Kansas Form W-2 & KW-3
when you e-file your Federal form with us
- No Annual Subscription
- No Reconciliation Charges
- No Hidden Charges
Kansas State Filing
Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements
Kansas Form W-2 filing deadline -
January 31, 2022
Kansas Form KW-3 filing deadline -
January 31, 2022
TaxBandits is here to help you with the federal and state filing of Form W-2. Also, you can file Kansas Reconciliation Form KW-3.
Q. Does Kansas mandate W-2 filing?
A. Yes, the state of Kansas mandates the W-2 filing even if there is no state tax withholding.
Q. Does Kansas require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?
A. Yes. Kansas requires additional forms to be submitted when you file W-2 based on the mode of filing.
If you file W-2 electronically, you only have to submit KW-3, Annual Withholding Tax Return. For e-filing, check out TaxBandits, IRS-Authorized e-file provider. We support the filing of W-2 with the SSA and State of Kansas.
If you paper file W-2, you must attach W-3 and KW-3.
Just Create a FREE account at TaxBandits and e-file your W-2 to stay compliant with Iowa.
Note: When you E-file Form W-2 with TaxBandits, we will take care of the reconciliation Form KW-3.
Q. What are the special fields required when filing a Form W-2 with Kansas?
A. When e-filing Form W-2 for Kansas, the state requires Employee Contribution to KPERS, KP & F and Judges as their special field.
Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Kansas?
A. The deadline to file Form W2 with Kansas is January 31.
Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next business day is the deadline.
Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Kansas?
A. Yes, you can electronically file your W-2s with Kansas. Remember, the state mandates e-filing if you file 51 or more W-2s. If you’re looking for an e-file service provider, check out TaxBandits. Create a FREE account with the TaxBandits and complete your W-2.
Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Kansas?
A. Kansas may impose penalties for the following conditions:
- Late filing of W2
- Late payment of state withholding taxes
- Underpayment of taxes
Learn more about Form W-2 penalties.
Form W-2 penalties for Kansas - 2021
Late filing of W-2
- If you file W-2s after the original deadline but before February 1 of the following year, the penalty will be 15% of your tax due. If you file after February 1, the penalty would be 15% of your unpaid taxes and 1% per month for up to 24 months.
Late payment of taxes
- If you pay your taxes after the deadline, but before February 1 of the following year, the penalty is 15% of your taxes. If you pay after February 1 of the following year, but before September 1, the penalty is 25% of your taxes. If you pay taxes on or after September 1, the penalty is 40% of your taxes.
Underpayment of W-2
- If you pay the withheld taxes after the original deadline, but before February 1 of the following year, the penalty will be 15% of your tax due. If you pay after February 1, the penalty would be 15% of your unpaid taxes and 1% per month up to 24 months.
Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Kansas?
A. Yes, you can file correction form W-2c with Kansas. However, the state accepts only the paper filing of W-2c. When submitting paper copies of W-2c, you must attach the amended W-3 and KW-3.
Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Kansas?
A. Kansas accepts the paper filing of W-2 Form only when 50 or fewer forms are being filed. Remember, you must electronically file your W-2s if you file for 51 or more employees. Comparatively, e-filing is the easiest way to complete W-2s regardless of the form volume. To help you with the e-filing of W-2, TaxBandits, an IRS-Certified e-file provider, is here. Create a FREE account with the TaxBandits and complete your W-2.
If you still want to file paper copies of Form W-2 with the State of Kansas, send it to the
following mailing address.
PO BOX 3506,
TOPEKA, KS 66625-3506