Nebraska Form W-2 & W-3N
Filing Requirements

Complete your State e-filing for $0.50/form
when you e-file your Federal form with us
  • No Annual Subscription
  • No Reconciliation Charges
  • No Hidden Charges

Nebraska State Filing


Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements

Nebraska State Filing Requirements

  • The Form W-2, Wage, and Tax Statement should be filed with the State of Nebraska for the 2020 Tax Year.
  • The State of Nebraska also mandates the filing of Form W-3N, Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld, for 2020.
January 31, 2021

Nebraska Form W-2 filing deadline - January 31, 2021

January 31, 2021

Nebraska Form W-3N filing deadline - January 31, 2021

TaxBandits is here to help you with both Federal and State filing of Form W-2.
Get started today!

Q. Does Nebraska mandate W-2 filing?

A. Yes, the Nebraska Department of Revenue requires the filing of the W2 Forms only if there is a
state tax withholding.

Q. Does Nebraska require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?

A. Yes. Nebraska requires additional forms when submitting W-2.

When paper filing, you must submit both Form W-3N (Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld) and W-3.

When e-filing, you are required to submit only Form W-3N. To e-file W-2s with Nebraska, create a FREE account with TaxBandits.

Note: You should take care of filing Form W-3N after e-filing W-2 through TaxBandits.

Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Nebraska?

A. The filing due date for Form W2 and Form W-3N with Nebraska is January 31, 2021.

Note: If the due date falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next business day is the deadline.

Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Nebraska?

A. Yes, you can e-file W-2s with Nebraska. Keep in mind that e-filing is mandatory if you file more than 50 forms. TaxBandits, an IRS-certified e-file provider, is here to simplify the filing of W-2. Create a FREE account in TaxBandits today and get started.

Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Nebraska?

A. Nebraska may charge a fine for the following:

Late filing of W-2 - $2 per statement, but will not exceed $2000

Late payment of taxes - 5% of your taxes + interest

Not e-filing W-2s when you were required to - $2 per statement, but will not exceed $2000

Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Nebraska?

A. Yes, you can file W-2c to resolve the errors on the previously filed W-2s. There is no specific
deadline for filing W-2c. Keep in mind that only paper filing of W-2c is allowed and you must include amended W-3 & W-3N.

Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Nebraska?

A. Mail your copies to the state agency only when you file less than 50 forms. If you’re submitting more than 50 forms, e-filing is the only acceptable mode. Whatever the form count may be, e-filing is the best option to submit W-2s. It will save a lot of time, spending on paperwork. To start e-filing, create a FREE account
with TaxBandits.

If you still want to paper file W-2s, attach W-3 & W-3N and send them to the address below:

Get started with TaxBandits today and stay compliant with the State of Nebraska! Start Filing Now

More FAQs on W-2 State Filings

Success Starts with TaxBandits

The Smart Business Owners Choice

Access our resource center for more
information about tax relief due to
COVID-19. Visit Now