Missouri State Filing
Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements
Missouri State W-2 Filing Requirements
- The Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, must be filed with the State of Missouri for the 2022 Tax Year.
- The State of Missouri also mandates the filing of
Form MO-W3, Transmittal of Tax Statements,
Deadline to file Form W-2 and
Form MO-W3 is
TaxBandits is here to help you with the Federal and State filing of Form W-2. Also, you can file Missouri Reconciliation Form MO-W3.
Q. Does Missouri require W-2 filing?
A. Yes! The State of Missouri has mandated the filing of Form W-2 only if there is a state tax withholding. The state also mandates e-filing if the total number of W-2s being filed is 250 or more.
Q. Does Missouri require any additional forms to be submitted while
A. Yes! When you file W-2 with Missouri for the tax year 2022, you must attach the additional forms based on the
method of filing.
E-filing - You must complete Form MO W-3 along with your W-2. It is always a better idea to e-file your W-2. TaxBandits is here to help you with this. We support the filing of W-2 with the SSA and states.
Paper filing - You must include both Form MO W-3 and W-3 with your Form W-2.
Note: When you E-file Form W2 Online with TaxBandits, we will take care of the reconciliation Form MO-W3.
Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Missouri?
A. Employers filing 250 or more W-2s must file them on or before January 31, 2023 this is the electronic filing deadline. Employers not required to file electronically must submit their W-2s on or before the last day of February.
Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next business day
is the deadline.
Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Missouri?
A. Yes, the State of Missouri supports the electronic filing of W-2s. While e-filing W-2s, you must complete the Form MO W-3. Keep in mind that it is mandatory to e-file if you are filing 250 or more W2s.
Note: Employers with 250 or more employees must electronically file W-2 forms by January 31.
Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Missouri?
A. Missouri imposes penalties for both failure to file W-2 and failure to pay taxes on time.
Penalties for the late filing of W-2 - $2 per return with the maximum penalty of $1000.
Penalties for not paying the withheld taxes - $2 per return with the maximum
penalty of $1000.
Learn more about Form W-2 penalties.
Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Missouri?
A. Yes, you can file W-2c with Missouri, but it accepts only paper filing. Your W-2c must accompany amended
W-2c mailing address
Note: Do not send copies of W-2c if there is no change in withholding tax liability.
Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Missouri?
A. You are only allowed to mail in the W-2 copies when you file less than 250 forms. When mailing W-2s, Form Form MO-W3 & W-3 should be attached. Keep in mind that it is mandatory to e-file if you are filing 250 or
E-filing is the best choice for submitting W-2s quickly. This filing method enables you to easily track your return.
If you prefer paper filing of W-2s, mail your copies to the following address:
If you’re looking for an IRS-certified e-file provider, check out TaxBandits! We support the W2 filing with the SSA and states.
Get started with TaxBandits
today and stay compliant with the State of Missouri!
Start Filing Now