Mississippi State Filing
Select your State for 1099 Reporting Requirements
Mississippi 1099 Filing Requirements
- The state of Mississippi mandates filing 1099 forms, including 1099-NEC, 1099-MISC, 1099-INT, 1099-DIV, 1099-R, 1099-B, 1099-G, 1099-K, 1099-OID, and W-2G.
- The state of Mississippi also mandates the filing of Form 89-140, Annual Information Return.
Deadline to file Form 1099 and
Form 89-140 is
TaxBandits supports the filing of Form 1099 with both the Federal and State of Mississippi.
Q. What are the 1099 filing requirements for the state of Mississippi?
A. The State of Mississippi mandates the filing of 1099 if $600 or more payment of income is paid to the Mississippi resident individual in any calendar year.
Q. What types of 1099 forms need to be filed with the State of Mississippi?
A. Mississippi requires the filing of the following 1099 forms
Q. What are the Mississippi 1099 NEC filing requirements?
A. The State of Mississippi requires Form 1099-NEC to be filed only if there is state withholding.
Q. Does Mississippi require any additional forms to be submitted when filing 1099 forms?
A. Yes. The state of Mississippi expects you to submit additional forms based on the type of filing.
- When you file 1099s electronically, you don’t have to file any additional forms.
- If you choose to paper file 1099, you should submit both 1096 and Form 89-140 to the state.
Q. When is Mississippi 1099 due?
A. The deadline to file 1099s with Mississippi is February 28. Form 89-140 should be filed on or before February 28. If you fail to file on time, the State Department will impose penalties.
Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next day is the deadline.
Q. Can I electronically file 1099 forms with Mississippi?
A. Yes, the state of Mississippi supports the electronic filing of 1099s. It is mandatory to e-file with the state when filing 25 or more 1099s.
E-filing is the best option for hassle-free filing. If you prefer e-filing, TaxBandits is here to help you with that. We support all 1099s with the state of Mississippi. Plus, we distribute 1099 form copies to payees via postal mail.
Q. What are the 1099 penalties for Mississippi?
A. The State of Mississippi imposes 1099 penalties & interests for the following:
- Late filing of 1099 or not filing at all
- Paying the taxes late
- Failure to furnish employee copies
- Intentional disregard of filing requirements
|1099||Penalties & Interests|
|Late filing or not filing at all||$5/return with a minimum of $250 and a maximum of $10,000|
|Paying the taxes late||The penalty is 10% of your unpaid taxes. Interest is 1% of your unpaid taxes per month, and it will be calculated from the time it is due until you pay it.|
|Not furnishing form copies to employees||$5/return with a minimum of $250 and a maximum of $10,000|
$25/return with a minimum of $250 and a
maximum of $10,000
Learn more about Form 1099 penalties.
Q. Where do I mail 1099 forms when filing with the state of Mississippi?
A. You should only mail 1099 copies when you paper file. Paper filing is acceptable only when filing less than 25 1099s. For 25 or more 1099s, you must electronically file.
Usually, e-filing is the most convenient way to file your tax returns with the IRS and state. When you e-file, you can easily track your returns
If you still want to file 1099 forms by paper, send the forms with a copy of 1096 & Form 89-140 to the following address:
Withholding Tax Division
P.O. Box 23058
Jackson, MS 39225-3058
Success Starts with TaxBandits
The Smart Business Owners ChoiceCreate a Free Account