Illinois Form W-2 Filing Requirements
- No Annual Subscriptions
- No Reconciliation Charges
- No Hidden Charges
Illinois State Filing
Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements
Illinois State Filing Requirements
- The Form W-2, Wage, and Tax Statement should be filed with the State of Illinois for the 2020 Tax Year.
The Illinois Form W-2 filing deadline is February 01, 2021
TaxBandits is here to help you with both Federal and State filing of Form W-2.
Get started today!
Q. Does Illinois mandate W-2 filing?
A. Yes! The Illinois Department of Revenue mandates the filing of W-2 if you satisfy any one
of the following conditions.
- You have paid employee compensation in Illinois
- You have withheld Illinois income tax
Remember, Illinois allows only the electronic filing of W-2.
Q. Does Illinois require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?
A. No! Illinois does not require any additional forms to be submitted with W-2.
Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Illinois?
A. For the tax year 2020, the deadline to file Form W-2 with Illinois is February 01, 2021.
Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next weekday is the deadline.
Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Illinois?
A. Yes! In fact, electronic filing is the only way to submit W-2s with the State of Illinois. The state will not accept
W-2s if you submit them by paper or CD.
Looking for a trusted e-file provider to transmit your W-2 with Illinois? No worries! TaxBandits is here to help you with that. We support the filing of W-2 with both the SSA and State. Whether you want to file W-2s for 10 or 1000 employees, we have solutions for businesses of all sizes.
Create a FREE account at TaxBandits and e-file W-2s before the deadline.
Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Illinois?
A. The Illinois Department of Revenue imposes penalties based on how late you file W-2, not paying the taxes on time, and incorrect type of filing.
Late filing of W-2
- If you fail to file W-2 before the deadline, the penalty of $250 or 2% of your unpaid taxes will be imposed on you.
Late payment of taxes
- The penalty for paying the taxes late will be calculated based on the number of days your payment is late. If you pay the taxes within 30 days from the original due date, you will be charged 2% of your unpaid tax as a penalty. For more than 30 days, you will be penalized 10% of your unpaid amount.
Not e-filing W-2s
- The state accepts only the e-filing of W-2s. If you fail to e-file, you will be charged a penalty of $5/form.
Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Illinois?
A. Yes, you can file correction form, W-2c to rectify the errors in the previously submitted W-2. Keep in mind that Illinois accepts only the e-filing of W-2c.
Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Illinois?
A. The State of Illinois does not support paper filing of W-2. So, you must only submit W-2s electronically.
Looking for an IRS-certified e-file provider? TaxBandits is the market leader in e-filing various tax forms, including W-2s. We support both Federal and State filing. Whether you want to file W-2s for 10 or 1000 employees, we have a solution for businesses of all sizes.
Get started with TaxBandits today and stay compliant with the State of Illinois! Start Filing Now