Q. Does North Carolina have any additional requirements when you file 1099 forms?
A. Yes. The state of North Carolina requires additional forms to file along with Form 1099. If you paper file, you must send form NC-3 along with form 1099. If you electronically file, there is no need to send the paper copies of these forms and statements to the Department
Q. What is Form NC-3?
A. Form NC-3 is an Annual Withholding Reconciliation is used to report the total income taxes withheld from employees/contractors.
Q. What is the due date to file 1099 with North Carolina?
A. The due date to file 1099 with North Carolina is January 31.
Q. What are the penalties for not filing or filing 1099 late North Carolina?
Failure to file an Form 1099 timely ($50 per day with a maximum of $1,000)
Failure to file an Form 1099 in the proper format ($200)
Failure to file a tax return on the date it is due (5% per month with a maximum of 25% on the amount of additional tax due)
Failure to pay tax when due (10% on the amount of additional tax due)
Q. Where do I mail North Carolina 1099 forms?
A. Mail your Form 1099s along with NC-3 to the following address.
Success Starts with TaxBandits
The Smart Business Owners Choice
Access our resource center for more information about tax relief due to COVID-19. Visit Now