Louisiana W-2 & L-3 State Filing Requirements
when you e-file your Federal form with us
- No Annual Subscription
- No Reconciliation Charges
- No Hidden Charges
Louisiana State Filing
Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements
The Louisiana Form W-2 filing deadline is
January 31, 2022
The Louisiana Form L-3 filing deadline is
January 31, 2022
TaxBandits is here to help you with Federal and State filing of Form W-2. Also TaxBandits supports filing of Transmittal Form L-3.
Q. Does Louisiana mandate W-2 filing for 2021?
A. Yes, Louisiana only mandates the filing of the W2 forms if there is a state tax withholding. You must pay the withheld tax to the state department on or before January 31, 2022.
Q. Does Louisiana require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?
A. Yes, the State of Louisiana requires additional forms to be submitted based on your method of filing.
- If you e-file Form W-2, you need to submit Form L-3 (Transmittal of Withholding Tax Statements) on or before January 31, 2022.
- If you file W-2 by paper, you must attach W-3 and Form L-3 (Transmittal of Withholding Tax Statements).
Note: When you E-file Form W-2 with TaxBandits, we will take care of the reconciliation Form L-3.
Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Louisiana?
A. The deadline to file Form W-2 and Form L-3 with Louisiana is January 31, 2022.
Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next weekday is the deadline.
Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Louisiana?
A. Yes, the State of Louisiana supports the electronic filing of W-2s. It is mandatory to E-file W-2 to the state when you file 50 or more W-2s.
When you e-file W-2s with the state, you must also submit the Form L-3. If you prefer e-filing your W-2s using TaxBandits, we will also help you file the Form L-3. Create a FREE account with TaxBandits and e-file W-2s before the due date.
Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Louisiana?
A. As an employer, if you fail to file W-2 and L-3, you will be penalized by Louisiana. The penalty is $5 per W-2, not exceeding $7,500.
Learn more about Form W-2 penalties.
Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Louisiana?
A. Yes! You must file a Form W-2c with the State of Louisiana when you identify errors in the previously filed W-2.
The state accepts the paper filing of W-2c. When you submit W-2c, you must submit the amended L-3 and W-3c to the state.
Send the form copies to the address below:
Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Louisiana?
A. The State of Louisiana only accepts the paper filing of W-2 when you file less than 50 forms. If you file 50 W-2s or more, you must electronically file.
Irrespective of the form volume, e-filing is more convenient, and you will know the status of your filing immediately. If you still decide to paper file, include forms W-3 & L-3 and mail the form copies to: