Maine Form W-2 & W-3ME
Filing Requirements

Complete your State e-filing for $0.50/form
when you e-file your Federal form with us
  • No Annual Subscription
  • No Reconciliation Charges
  • No Hidden Charges

Maine State Filing


Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements

Maine State Filing Requirements

  • The Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement should be filed with the State of Maine for the 2020 Tax Year.
  • The State of Maine also requires the filing of Form W-3ME, Reconciliation of Maine Income Tax Withheld in 2020, for 2020.
February 1, 2021

Maine Form W-2 filing deadline - February 1, 2021

March 1, 2021

Maine Form W-3ME filing deadline - March 1, 2021

TaxBandits is here to help you with both Federal and State filing of Form W-2.
Get started today!

Q. Does Maine mandate W-2 filing for 2020?

A. Yes! The state of Maine has mandated the filing of Form W-2 if there was a state tax withholding.

Note: Maine does not accept paper copies of W-2.

Q. Does Maine require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?

A. Yes! The state requires W-3ME to be filed with the W-2s when you e-file. Here at TaxBandits, we provide a simplified e-filing solution for your W-2s with manual and bulk filing options. Make use of the TaxBandits’ Online Access Portal to grant your employees access to their W-2s.

With the help of this portal, they can view/download their copies. On the other hand, if you want to send the recipient copies by postal mail, we continue to provide this option. After transmitting W-2s, you must take care of your Form W-3ME.

Why wait? Just create a FREE account with TaxBandits to begin your W-2 filing.

Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Maine?

A. The deadline to file Form W-2 with Maine is February 1, 2021. Form W-3ME should be filed on or before
March 1, 2021.

Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next business day is the deadline.

Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Maine?

A. Yes, you can electronically file W-2s with Maine. In fact, e-filing is the only acceptable method by the
State of Maine.

If you are looking for an IRS-authorized e-file provider, TaxBandits simplifies your W-2 filing. Just sign up with TaxBandits and begin to e-file your W-2s with Maine.

Q. What are the W-2 penalties for the state of Maine?

A. As an employer, you will be subject to penalties by the state for the following:

  • Not filing W-2 by the deadline
  • Paying the state taxes late

Not filing W-2 by the deadline - The penalty is $25 or 10% of your unpaid taxes, whichever is greater.

Paying the state taxes late - The penalty is 1% per month up to a maximum of 25% of your unpaid tax.

Q. Can I file W-2c with the state of Maine?

A. No, you cannot file W-2c with the State of Maine. The state does not accept or process the corrected wage and withholding information.

Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Maine?

A. You should not send paper copies of your W-2s to the state. As an employer, you are only allowed to e-file your W-2s. To help you, TaxBandits is here! We are an IRS-authorized e-file provider supporting the e-filing of W-2 with Maine. We have solutions for small businesses, tax professionals, and large businesses.

Why wait? Just create a FREE account with TaxBandits to begin e-filing.

Get started with TaxBandits today and stay compliant with the State of Maine! Start Filing Now

More FAQ on W-2 State Filings

Success Starts with TaxBandits

The Smart Business Owners Choice

Access our resource center for more
information about tax relief due to
COVID-19. Visit Now