California State Filing
Select your State for 1099 Reporting Requirements
Q. What are the 1099 filing requirements for the state of California?
A. The state of California mandates filing form 1099s if:
- The Recipient is a California resident or a part-year resident.
- The Source of a 1099 transaction was in California.
Q. What types of 1099 forms does California require?
A. California requires the filing of the following 1099 forms
Q. Does California have any additional requirements when you file 1099 forms?
A. No. California doesn’t have any additional filing requirements.
Q. When is California 1099 due?
A. The due date to file Form 1099s with California is March 31
Note: If the due date falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next business day is the deadline.
Q. What are the requirements to file 1099 electronically with California?
A. The State of California requires you to file 1099 forms electronically if you file 250 or more forms.
Q. What are the penalties for not filing or filing 1099 late with California?
A. A penalty of $24 is charged for each failure to report within the due date. No penalty is collected if the failure is due to a reasonable cause. A penalty of $490 may be charged if the failure is intentional.
Learn more about Form 1099 penalties.
Q. Where do I mail California 1099 forms?
A. Mail your Form 1099 to the following address:
Success Starts with TaxBandits
The Smart Business Owners ChoiceCreate a Free Account