Colorado Form 1099 & DR 1106 Filing Requirements

Complete your State e-filing for $0.50/form
  • No Annual Subscription
  • No Recon Charges
  • No Hidden Charges

Colorado State Filing


Select your State for 1099 Reporting Requirements

TaxBandits for Every Business

Colorado 1099 State Filing Requirements

  • Form 1099 (1099-NEC, 1099-MISC, 1099-INT, 1099-DIV, 1099-R, 1099-B, 1099-G, 1099-K, 1099-PATR)
  • Form DR 1106 - Annual Transmittal of State 1099 Forms
January 31, 2023

Deadline to File Form 1099 with Colorado -
January 31, 2023

January 31, 2023

Deadline to File Form DR 1106 with Colorado - January 31, 2023

TaxBandits supports the filing of Form W-2 with both the Federal and State of Colorado.

Q. Does Colorado mandate 1099 filing?

A. Yes, the Colorado Department of Revenue mandates the filing of the 1099 Forms only if there is a
state tax withholding.

Q. What types of 1099 forms does Colorado require?

A. Colorado requires the filing of the following 1099 forms only if there is a state tax withholding.

Q. Does Colorado require the filing of Form 1099-NEC?

A. Yes. The State of Colorado requires Form 1099-NEC to be filed only if there is state withholding.

Q. Does Colorado have any additional requirements when you file 1099 forms?

A. Yes. The state of Colorado requires additional forms to file along with Form 1099. Colorado has an additional requirement of Form DR 1106 (Annual Transmittal of State 1099 Forms) to be filed if income tax withheld per 1099s and paid during year.

Create a FREE account with TaxBandits to e-file W-2s before the deadlines.

Note: When you E-File Form 1099 with TaxBandits, you need to take care of Transmittal Form DR-1106.

Q. What is Form DR 1106?

A. Form DR 1106 is an Annual Transmittal of State 1099 Forms used to report income tax withheld per 1099s and paid during the year.

Q. What is the due date to file 1099 with Colorado?

A. The filing due date for the Form 1099 is January 31.

Note: If the due date falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next weekday is the deadline.

Q. What are the requirements to file 1099 electronically with Colorado?

A. Payers with 250 or more payees are required to file 1099 electronically. It is also recommended for payers with less than 250 payees. However, payers with less than 250 payees may choose paper filing.

Q. What are the penalties for not filing or filing 1099 late with Colorado?

A. Penalty of 5% of tax due or $5 (whichever amount is greater) is charged. An additional penalty of 1/2% (.005) is charged for each additional month upto maximum of 12% of the tax due.

Learn more about Form 1099 Penalties.

Q. Where do I mail Colorado 1099 forms?

A. Mail your Form 1099s along with Form DR 1106 to the following address.

Map Icon

W-2 Correction Mailing Address (along with the cover letter):

Map Icon

For more information, please visit the State website: https://www.colorado.gov/tax

Get started with TaxBandits today and stay compliant with the State of Colorado! Start Filing Now

More FAQ on 1099 State Filings

Success Starts with TaxBandits

The Smart Business Owners Choice