Maryland Form W-2 & MW508
Filing Requirements

Complete your State e-filing for $0.50/form
when you e-file your Federal form with us.
  • No Annual Subscription Fees
  • No Reconciliation Charges
  • No Hidden Charges

Maryland State Filing


Select your State for W-2 Reporting Requirements

Maryland State Filing Requirements

  • The Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, should be filed with the
    State of Maryland for the 2020 Tax Year.
  • Maryland also mandates the filing of Form MW508, Annual Employer Withholding Reconciliation Return, for 2020.
January 31, 2021

Maryland Form W-2 filing deadline - January 31, 2021.

January 31, 2021

Maryland Form MW508 filing deadline - January 31, 2021.

TaxBandits is here to help you with Federal and State filing of Form W-2.
Get started today!

Q. Does Maryland mandate W-2 filing for 2020?

A. Yes! The State of Maryland mandates the filing of Form W-2 only if there is a state tax withholding.

Q. Does Maryland require any additional forms to be submitted while filing W-2?

A. Yes! When you file W-2 with Maryland, it requires additional forms to be submitted.

E-filing - You are required to submit only Form MW508 (Annual Employer Withholding Reconciliation Return). If you prefer e-filing, TaxBandits is here to help you. Just create a FREE account in TaxBandits to complete your
W-2s in a few minutes. When filing W-2s with us, we will take care of filing your MW508.

Paper-filing - When you paper file W-2s, attach Form MW508 and W-3.

Note: If you’re claiming tax-exempt credits against the state withholdings, you must also attach
Form MW508CR irrespective of the filing method.

Q. What is the deadline to file W-2 with Maryland?

A. The deadline to file Form W-2 with Maryland is
January 31, 2021.

Note: If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, the next weekday is the deadline.

Q. Can I electronically file W-2 with Maryland?

A. Yes, the State of Maryland supports the electronic filing of W-2s. It is mandatory to E-file W-2s to the state when you file 25 or more W-2s.

If you prefer e-filing your W-2s using TaxBandits, we will take care of filing the Form MW508.
Create a FREE account with TaxBandits and e-file W-2s before the due date.

Q. What are the W-2 penalties for Maryland?

A. The State of Maryland will impose penalties for the following:

Not filing W-2 on time - $100 per statement

Not paying the state taxes on time - 0.5% of your taxes, but it will not exceed 25%.

Q. Can I file W-2c with the State of Maryland?

A. Yes, you can file corrections to a previously filed W-2 if you have made mistakes on it. However, the state accepts only the paper filing of W-2c. Your W-2c must accompany amended Form W-3c and Form MW508.

Q. Where do I mail W-2 forms when filing with the State of Maryland?

A. The state only accepts paper copies of W-2 if you are filing 25 forms or less. When filing over 25 forms, you are required to file them electronically. TaxBandits assists with e-filing. Sign up for a free TaxBandits account to submit your W-2s in a few simple steps.

If you paper file W-2s, attach Form MW508 & Form W-3c and send them to the address below:

Get started with TaxBandits today and stay compliant with the State of Arkansas! Start Filing Now

More FAQs on W-2 State Filings

Success Starts with TaxBandits

The Smart Business Owners Choice

Access our resource center for more
information about tax relief due to
COVID-19. Visit Now