Yes, the Maryland Department of Revenue requires you file 1099 forms.
Yes, but you need to file 1099 directly with the State Department of Revenue.
Maryland only requires a 1099-MISC from the payee when there is withholding greater than zero.
Yes, the state of Maryland mandates filing Annual Reconciliation Form MW508 with your 1099 forms if there is state tax withholding.
Form MW508 is an Annual Reconciliation used to report the total income taxes withheld from individuals.
The filing due date for both Form 1099 & MW508 is the last day of January. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, it must be filed by the next business day.
The State of Maryland suggests filing electronically if you are submitting 25 or more 1099s.
Employers failing to file electronically (with 25 or more 1099s) may incur a penalty of $100 for each violation.
You will be penalized for filing Form W-2 & Form MW508 late with the Maryland Department of Revenue. There is a minimum penalty of $10 for filing late. Learn more about the Form 1099 penalties in detail by visiting https://www.taxbandits.com/form-1099-series/1099-misc-penalties/.